RSS Feed

There Are Some New Kids on the Block

Posted on

Sunday was the grand opening celebration of the Living History Dance School.

Mike Legett and Dan Rosenthal have set up shop in the heart of the Queen City with a wonderful new place to learn what it really means to dance.  To commemorate this momentous occasion, they held a crash course in one of my favourite styles of dance: blues.  It’s smooth, it’s slow and it’s sexy.  Blues is really the best way to cool down after a day of dancing.

Mike and Dan hosted their crash course at the Emmanuel Community Center in the very heart of Cincinnati.  They took the approximately 23 attendees and taught us the basics of ballroom and jukin blues.  They also gave a very quick overview of a few other types of blues dances.  Who know there were so many variations of one dance?

After four hours, a little personal attention and a lot of stepping on my leads’ feet, I finally felt like I was getting the hang of this blues thing.

Even though they were teaching us the actual technique of blues, Mike and Dan stressed one thing: be confident.  If you’re not confident in your movements, your partner will know and then your dance will look deflated and wilted.  If you think you look stupid then you probably do.  But if you look strong and sure of your actions, you are guaranteed to have a successful dance, even if you screw up a move.  This is something I believe every dancer needs to take to heart.  Dancing  is about having fun and meeting new people, not about being perfect.

Personally, my favourite part of the day was learning solo blues moves.  I’ve always had issues when it comes to dancing by myself.  Now I have some pretty rad moves to show off on the dance floor.

I’m so happy that Mike and Dan are in town and hope they enjoy Cincinnati as much as I do.  I also wish them the best of luck with this new endeavor and hope all you fabulous hepcats will check out what they have to offer.

There will be a crash course in Charleston next month, same place, same time.  Be sure to register early to save your spot and get a great discount.

 

P.S. For those of you who haven’t figured it out yet, Mike is a girl.

About Olivia

Vintage fanatic. Dancer. Armchair physicist. Polymath. Cat-killing curiosity. Wearer of many hats.

4 responses »

  1. “P.S. For those of you who haven’t figured it out yet, Mike is a girl.”

    Hahaha. I was talking to a friend a few weeks ago, “Last week swing club was really cool. We had visiting instructors—Mike and Dan.” And the friend said “Wait… Mike and Dan?” And I was like, “Oh yeah. Mike’s a girl.”

    Reply
  2. Ellen McIntire

    OK when was this and where was I??

    PS OMG Charleston Lesson!!!

    Reply
  3. If I weren’t moving to FL, I would for sure be doing the Charleston lessons. 😦

    Reply

What Have You Got to Say?

