RSS Feed

An Apple for Teacher

Posted on

You all know what they say, “There’s a first time for everything.”  I don’t know who this proverbial “they” is, but there’s certainly something true about that phrase.


Well recently, I had my first real teaching experience.  That’s right, ladies and gentlemen, they put me in charge of a group of newbies and trusted me not to screw it up too badly.

I helped teach a beginner Charleston lesson with the ever fabulous Eric Kern, and a beginner East Coast lesson with another first-time teacher and my wonderful vice president, Ben Piper.

The days leading up to this first lesson were like the hours leading up to the opening night performance on Broadway.  Ok…maybe my anxiety wasn’t quite that bad, but it certainly turned my stomach a few times.  I knew I knew my stuff, that wasn’t the issue.  Actually, it was the issue.  I’ve been doing these basic steps for so long and they’re so ingrained in my muscle memory, that I wasn’t sure I knew how to translate that into something the beginners with no dance background would understand.

But 6:30 Wednesday evening rolled around and I felt like I was at the top of the first hill on a roller coaster, suspended for a moment in time/  Deep breath.  And then I’m plummeting down in an unstoppable fall and I just have to trust that I’m going to say the right thing at the right time.
And despite a few technical problems, I think things went rather smoothly.  I didn’t pass out, I didn’t throw up and I taught the right style of dance.  It’s an all around win!

But the real question is, what did you think?  If you were at Wednesday’s lesson, how did I do?  What did you like, what didn’t you like?  What would you like to see me do differently?

For those of you with a bit more teaching experience than I have, any tips, tricks or advice?  I’ll take anything I can get.

About Olivia

Vintage fanatic. Dancer. Armchair physicist. Polymath. Cat-killing curiosity. Wearer of many hats.

One response »

  1. I particularly liked the part when you butt dialed me and I could hear your instruction. It was very enlightening! I thought you were great! But then, I might be just a bit partial.

    Reply

What Have You Got to Say?

