RSS Feed

Lindy Focus

Posted on
Brenda and Chris

Brenda and Chris

Alright, y’all, I know it’s a bit late in coming, but I’m finally doing my post about Lindy Focus.

LINDY FOCUS WAS FREAKING AMAZING!  There were so many people and so many great dancers, I was so excited, I just couldn’t hide it…

Hold it.  I’ll back up a bit.  For those of you who don’t know, Lindy Focus is a week long dance camp for all skill levels with some of the best swing instructors in the world.  That’s right, in the world.  

All of those names you’ve heard oohed and ahhed over?  Michael Jagger, Sharon Davis, Mikey Pedroza.  Yeah, they were all there.  And they’re just the tip of the iceberg.  The list of instructors is really quite impressive.

So yeah, I fan girl-ed pretty hard.

LF rap?

But really, the lessons I got were unparalleled.  I learned things about the way my body moves that I had never put a single thought to before.  It was amazing!  And more than that, as something that was particularly interesting to me, I got to see what a great instructor looks like.  You can be the best dancer in the world and be a terrible instructor.  Thankfully, most of the Lindy Focus instructors are both.

And not only were there your standard swing classes, there were elective classes in everything you could ever imagine.  I took a vintage hairstyle class, a rhythm and blues line dance with William and Maeva and several panel discussions that gave me a lot of great insights and information.

One of my favourite classes, by far, was one of my first of the week.  I took a Boogie Woogie class with Max Pitruzella an William Mauvais.  And yes, I was that girl.  I’m the one who got called out in the lesson.  Oops.  But when you use the word “contractions” and then make a strange noise, how could I not laugh?  Anyway, sorry guys!  Even with being that girl, the lesson was really great.  I felt a bit like an idiot when I couldn’t get the steps down right off, but I had fun and laughed with some great people, so it was all worth it.527408_385474001545839_1427702777_n

I also got to dip my hand into Burlesque for the first time.  Sharon Davis gave one of her famed classes toward the end of the week, and it was nice to be in a room full of all girls for a change.  We learned an adorable routine and got to play with feather fans.  But the most important thing I took from that lesson was: no matter what you do, own it.  It doesn’t matter if you think you look strange, if you put your whole self into it, you can make it look damn sexy.

Sharon Davis

Sharon Davis

But by far, my favourite thing about Lindy Focus was the people.  It still blows my mind that there can be that many people who are as passionate about swing dance as I am, and that they can be gathered all in one place.      I met some fantastic people and dancers and friends.  And I can’t begin to tell you all how excited I am to dance with you all again soon!252067_385473054879267_969458555_n

So, I could go on and on and on and on…see.  Anyway, I could keep talking about Lindy Focus for the next week, but, I won’t, because I’ll eventually start to ramble.

LF Fashion Show

A huge thank you needs to go out to Jaya, Sosh and Michael, because without them, this never would have happened.  I can’t even imagine the long hours they put into this fabulous event.  You all are the best.

You can find photos from the New Year’s Eve photo book by Bobby Bonsey Hilary Mercer, Jessica Keener.  And Made By Hand Photography has some great LF photos as well.  And for real, guys, if you like a print, please, please, PLEASE buy it from these guys, so we can continue to have fantastic dance photos.

What was your favourite part of Lindy Focus?  Did you have a favourite class?  Have an interesting experience? Get ambushed by the dance ninja?  I’d love to hear from you.

Evita Arce

Evita Acer

 

About Olivia

Vintage fanatic. Dancer. Armchair physicist. Polymath. Cat-killing curiosity. Wearer of many hats.

What Have You Got to Say?

